To Be Great, Start!

The late writer and motivational speaker Zig Ziglar once said, “You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great.” What does this mean in the context of your life? For me as a writer and creator, it is quite relevant. I have quite a few projects that are just sitting in my brain right now, waiting to be liberated. Why have they not been freed onto the blank page or video screen? Various reasons, but they all amount to one thing — excuses.

It is true that a video made with a certain kind of camera with the right kind of lighting and sound and background and… would be better from a technical point of view, but if you keep waiting to have the right sound and everything you might make a hundred thousand videos… in your brain. Who benefits from the videos in your head? Absolutely nobody. I can attest to this, having made far too many videos in my head. I recently promised that there would be a video in this issue and I am here to deliver.

I was recently in a synagogue kitchen and saw somebody struggle trying to find themselves a teaspoon so that they could mix a bit of sugar into their coffee. I explained a technique that I came up with one day that works pretty well. Since then it occurred to me that I could easily explain something similar — that is, how to make instant coffee if you don’t have a teaspoon. I kept on deliberating on how to make the video and finally decided to just start. You’ll notice that the sound isn’t fantastic… but it’ finished. I can always make another video. I learned a few things about making video through making this one. Here is the finished result.

Is the video perfect? Far from it! I would fire the person that made that video if it had been handed to me as an assignment. Fortunately, I’m my own boss in this regard, so I was lenient and told myself to improve for next time… and there will be a next time, G-d willing!

What are you going to start today to be great?

One thought on “To Be Great, Start!

  1. Pingback: Excise Excuses and Complaints for your betterment! | blog of gordon davidescu

Leave a Reply

