Why I Wish Health and Wellness to a Hater

Earlier today, I encountered a bit of the vicious side of humanity that can sometimes rear its head in the worst of times and in this case in the hustle and bustle of a subway train. I had to go from my work’s new office to the main campus of the college and one of my coworkers insisted that I took the train, even though it wouldn’t be such a long walk for me and I enjoy walking in nice weather such as we had today.

dvrtoag

I don’t know the last time I took the six train, but it has been a very long time and I am unfamiliar with its route. I knew my coworker said to take it down two stops and that was all. I got on the train — it was packed. It wasn’t too long before we got to the next stop, and people started pouring out of the train. I did my best to stay out of the way of the people getting off the train, but for one person my best was not good enough.

He looked back at me as he got off the train and angrily said, “You should have gotten off, you flipping Jew!” Except… he didn’t say flipping. He used a word that starts with the letter F, involves u, c, and k, and is definitely not firetrucking because that is not a real word.

I looked at him bewildered as he stared at me from the platform and he started to back away. Before he was fully out of earshot, I said back to him, “What does one have to do with another?” I looked over, bewildered, at another person on the train and he gave me a bit of a shrug like he had no idea what would prompt a person to say such a hostile thing to a total stranger.

As I walked up to 1300 York Ave., I thought more about this man and how I fundamentally had not stopped him or anyone else from getting off of the train, just delayed by a matter of seconds. The same amount of time that he had spent hurling an expletive and invoking my religion in a rude manner. I felt sad for him – yet I did not wish him ill and I do not wish him ill.

Far from it. I have learned from Brendon Burchard that sending well wishes to others, even if they don’t know you are doing it, is a fantastic thing.  I thought of this person and imagined that he had a life that was replete with its own struggles and pain and unhappiness, struggles and sorrow — and all I wished for him was health, happiness, and well-being. I repeated it a few times in my mind as I walked – I wish him health, happiness, and well-being.

It has been easier putting the ugliness of the incident behind me because I do not have hatred or anger in my heart for this person, even if he had it in his when he uttered those words.

I wish him health, happiness, and well-being.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing to my weekly e-mail containing fiction, non-fiction, poetry and more at tinyurl.com/gordonwrites — because I do!

Leave a Reply

