RuPaul’s Drag Race Season Eight Profile : Robbie Turner

For the next few weeks I hope to profile most if not all of the queens who are competing on this season of RuPaul’s Drag Race. I will profile them in no particular order.

In just a few weeks minus one day, we will be hearing RuPaul say those familiar words: “Gentlemen, start your engines… and may the best woman win!”

First I would like to profile Robbie Turner. Funnily enough, Robbie and I have something in common — we’ve both lived in Seattle and New York. As my family looks out west again to move in the near future (we hope), I can’t help but smile as I read about Robbie, who moved back to Seattle to be closer to family.

Robbie was born in Chehalis, Washington but grew up in Centralia. Both are city names I have heard my wife mention on occasion but I cannot remember in what context.

Scarily enough, Robbie was at one point attacked by a stalker / obsessive fan.

In many ways, Robbie says, drag queens are public servants. Because of his attack, he chooses to approach his public service like that of a mentor and friend.

‘If you are a true entertainer, then you belong to the people,’ he said. ‘You listen to their problems and become something of a therapist and often times and advocate or activist.’

Robbie hosts a show at the R Place in Seattle called Robbie Turner’s Playground.

RuPaul’s Drag Race premiers on Logo on March 7th. Tomorrow : a profile of Acid Betty!

Leave a Reply

