Let the Reasons WHY Push Aside the Reasons Why NOT

This morning, for everything I had going against me, I easily could have come up with a number of reasons why I should not have done my morning workout. It started with going to bed later than I wanted to go because Chaim was having problems falling asleep, and continued with his waking us up a couple of times over the course of the evening for various reasons, and also included the spectacular reason that after all of that, I was so anxious about not sleeping that I did not sleep well when I had the opportunity to sleep at all. With the various disruptions I would be amazed if I passed three hours of sleep last night. In theory I should have called my boss and told him that I was not going to be coming in to the office due to not feeling well, and just slept until Chaim woke us up — and took the day to rest and take care of Chaim.

That is not what happened. I woke up at about twenty to five (Chaim asked for a new diaper) and after having my lemon juice in water, popped in the Focus T25 DVD and did the entire workout and the cooldown. I got in the shower, used my favorite new shampoo / soap and hopped on out, ready to face the day. How did I manage all of this? I took all of the reasons why I should not wake up and do the workout and pushed them aside in favor of reasons why I should.

I need to do the workout to continue getting stronger, more fit, in better shape, however you want to put it.

I need to do the workout to continue with my schedule of doing the workouts according to the calendar that was made for me.

I need to do the workout because I know that by the end of it, I will be drenched in my own sweat but feeling really good.

I pushed aside all of the reasons why not with those reasons why, and what happened? I got through the workout and I am not missing a day of work due to not sleeping well. I am feeling not like a person who got barely three hours of sleep but like a person who can face the day.

When you find yourself in a situation where the list of reasons why you should not do something seem overwhelming and yet you know that doing the thing is the right thing for you to do, push the reasons why not with reasons why — think about why first, of course!

One thought on “Let the Reasons WHY Push Aside the Reasons Why NOT

  1. Pingback: Off Day? Sure, I’ll Switch up My Workout Routine! | blog of gordon davidescu

Leave a Reply

